Meant to Be Press

BRINGING YOU THE BEST IN ROMANCE FICTION

21 Questions with Petra

Piano and sheet music

Petra is the heroine in the novella “Tempo of Temptation”, a Regency romance which will be released in Spring 2017. She agreed to 21 questions:

1. Occupation?
I’m just surprised you’d want to questions me. I am companion to Lady Rosauer. You said you checked with her and she agreed I was to do this interview?

2. Yes, she agreed. Is working for Lady Rosauer a demanding position?
Not at all. My responsibilities are so negligible I hardly notice them. I am her companion, and accompany her on the rare occasions she goes out. Mostly, people call on her. I do not have to strain myself to be entertaining or any of the other burdens you hear companions lament. She asks little of me, though I do perform for her and her houseguests.

3. What do you perform? Plays?
Oh, no! (laughs) That wouldn’t suit me at all. My father was a talented musician, and my family traveled a great deal while I was growing up. I entertain on the pianoforte, as well as the harp and other instruments to suit Lady Rosauer’s mood. She is unfortunately troubled some nights, and finds it difficult to rest.

4. Do you enjoy traveling?
Very much, until… Well, I haven’t traveled much since…

5. I’m sorry. I heard about your family’s unfortunate last voyage. Are you willing to talk about it?
On our return voyage to England we were caught up in a storm that fouled the drinking water. Sickness swept our ship. I was one of the last to fall ill, and the only member of my family to survive. They burned the ship.

6. It must have been hard to recover.
Both physically and mentally. I relied on acquaintances of my father’s while I recuperated. My fate was uncertain – my mother’s family had disowned her when she married my father and a musician has little to fall back on except his talent. It was fortunate that Lady Rosauer stepped in as my benefactress.

7. Perhaps I should return to my list of questions. So, how you do spend your time now? Hobbies?
Besides practicing my instruments, I’m very fond of walking in the garden. I find it full of hope and life. The sound of children playing always cheers me.

8. Favorite food?
Ha! I learned to enjoy it all upon my return to shore. My illness left me what someone might uncharitably refer to as gaunt. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.

9. What are you looking forward to?
I enjoy the annual Spring Faire and the lessons I offer local children. That’s all I can think of right now.

10. Most embarrassing moment?
[long silence] May I pass? I like to think I’ve left my more awkward moments behind, though sometimes there are reminders even today. It’s possible, if you swear to keep it between us and your readers, that I may have asked a gentleman to wait for me to improve. It’s too awful to even recollect.

11. Do you have a favorite composer?
Many! I had the pleasure of visiting Vienna and the memory is precious. It’s such a vibrant place of learning. We also visited the Russian courts. Have you heard their composers? I brought back journals of music I hand copied. I swear, I may have some of the only copies in England.

12. Who is your best friend?
I don’t know that I’d call her my best friend, but we become more dear to each other. Francie has taken me into her confidence about Ryder Leon.

13. Who is Ryder Leon?
Lady Rosauer’s nephew. Lady Rosauer is essentially Francie’s godmother, you see. She would very much like to see them together.

14. What are you afraid of?

15. I’m sorry. You don’t have to talk about that.
Storms. I’m still frightened of storms. Can’t stand the sound of wind and rain.

16. What is your favorite thing you own?
My journals of music. There’s nothing else even close. However, my favorite thing in the world is the pedal-harp by Sebastian Erard.

17. Favorite animal?
The hummingbird.

18. How do you hope to be remembered?
As someone stronger than any obstacle put in her way.

19. Have you ever been really angry?
Yes, angry enough to want revenge, but I like to think I rose above it.

20. You’re not sure if you did?
Well, I set out to teach someone a lesson, but it got all twisted up and I’ve come to realize that things are never black and white.

21. So you got the lesson instead?
That remains to be seen.

About Lela Bay

Lela lives in a modest house in a modest town with her husband, children, and pets. Despite living so far north, she requires a certain amount of sunshine each day or she gets grumpy. Her hands are always cold, but her heart is warm. When she isn’t writing, she enjoys strolling, gardening, reading, and tea time with friends. Music has always been a large part of her life, and she owns a ridiculous number of instruments, though these days she mostly plays Rock Band. Lela’s favorite romance authors include Laura Kinsale, Jennifer Cruise, and Jane Austen. She enjoys stories with intimacy and humor. Favorite movies include Overboard, All of Me, North & South, Pride and Prejudice (miniseries with Colin Firth, please), The Princess Bride, and While You Were Sleeping. On television she is a fan of Grey’s Anatomy, Downton Abbey, and Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries. She frequently contributes movie and entertainment reviews to Meant to Be Press. Follow Lela on twitter @bay_lela

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2016 by in Characters and tagged .
