Meant to Be Press

BRINGING YOU THE BEST IN ROMANCE FICTION

Our Regency Stars…Transformed!

Ever start watching a movie and realize you’ve seen that face before? Where do you know him or her from? They are so familiar, you could pick them out of a lineup, but yet, you can’t pin down what you’ve seen them in. When this happens to me, I inevitably turn to my trusty IMDB app. Recently, I’ve been so surprised by what I find! Some of these you may be familiar with, others, well…they aren’t so easy to tell.

Nicholas from Nicholas Nickleby (Charlie Hunnam)charlie

The transformation of Charlie has stopped me in my tracks. When I saw and recognized him in Crimson Peak, I had to look him up to make sure he was the same guy. Where did the skinny, innocent Nicholas go? And then I found that he has been starring in the hit TV Series, Sons of Anarchy. What a shock to my system! I’m not saying he is better or worse in 2016, just vastly changed.

Mr. Darcy from Lost in Austen (Elliot Cowan)

elliot

Actually, Elliot Cowan in anything other than Lost in Austen is quite a transformation. He plays hoods and druggies just as well as upstanding gentlemen. Current audiences probably recognize him from Da Vinci’s Demons.

Miss Hale from North and South (Daniela Denby-Ashe)

hale

First watching Daniela as Miss. Hale in North and South, it was interesting to see her as the modern blonde woman in Waterloo Road.

Mr. Bingley from Lost in Austen (Tom Mison)

tom

I like Tom in either role, but after watching him in Sleepy Hollow, I was awed to find he was Bingley in Lost in Austen. Such opposite personalities and temperaments. Great actor.

These next two are ones I’m sure you know about already, but they had to be shown side by side. Sometimes we forget how hard actors work to get into their roles. Well done all!

Col. Brandon from Sense and Sensibility (Alan Rickman)

snape

Mr. Elton from Emma (Alan Cumming)

 alan

Do you have anyone in mind that has undergone such a radical transformation from Regency film? Email and share your shocking moments with us!

About Emmy Z. Madrigal

Emmy Z. Madrigal is the author of the upcoming Regency novella, Lord Harrington’s Lost Doe. Her previous works include the Sweet Dreams Musical Romance Series and the novelettes Anime Girl and Anime Girl 2. Emmy has been praised for her realistic portrayal of modern female characters and their will to survive in a world of adversity, prejudice, and economic hardship. Œ Œ Sweet Dreams is a love story, full of adventure, danger, and first experiences. It shows that love can conquer all and that sometimes, love comes when you least expect it. To find out more about Sweet Dreams, go to: http://www.sweetdreamsnovel.com

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2016 by in Regency and tagged , , , .
