Meant to Be Press

BRINGING YOU THE BEST IN ROMANCE FICTION

When Do You Keep the Romance?

I’m expecting a house guest, who will stay with me for two entire weeks. In preparation, I’ve been decluttering, organizing, and cleaning. It’s a good excuse to motivate myself on all the little tasks I generally avoid. Decluttering is simple stuff, though time consuming, until I reached my collection of romance books…

Sure, there was the low hanging fruit–books I’d somehow acquired I had no intention of reading. One that didn’t interest me any more. Books that weren’t memorable or were downright bad and just hadn’t made it out the door yet. Then there are the better books — good but nothing special. All of those went into the box for donation without a qualm.

But things got trickier.

What about the books I enjoyed and might read again. The light-hearted romance that made me chuckle out loud? Books by my favorite author? Books that I’d read years ago and loved? The first book in a type of genre where I’ve read better, but it was still the one that made me realize I really liked medieval/contemporary/love at first sight/international/insert-your-favoriate-here.

I ended up boxing some books that I couldn’t part with. Others will simply have to remain in the bookcase, too near and dear to my heart to be stored far away. Looking at my collection of keepers, I realized how fortunate I’ve been for all the books that have enriched my life.

And anyway, it’s that little bit of well-loved clutter that gives a house personality.

About Lela Bay

Lela lives in a modest house in a modest town with her husband, children, and pets. Despite living so far north, she requires a certain amount of sunshine each day or she gets grumpy. Her hands are always cold, but her heart is warm. When she isn’t writing, she enjoys strolling, gardening, reading, and tea time with friends. Music has always been a large part of her life, and she owns a ridiculous number of instruments, though these days she mostly plays Rock Band. Lela’s favorite romance authors include Laura Kinsale, Jennifer Cruise, and Jane Austen. She enjoys stories with intimacy and humor. Favorite movies include Overboard, All of Me, North & South, Pride and Prejudice (miniseries with Colin Firth, please), The Princess Bride, and While You Were Sleeping. On television she is a fan of Grey’s Anatomy, Downton Abbey, and Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries. She frequently contributes movie and entertainment reviews to Meant to Be Press. Follow Lela on twitter @bay_lela

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2016 by in Lifestyle.
